Tags

, , , , , ,

Yes, I put my wibbly wobbly nose out of the burrow a few days ago and could nearly smell spring.  I had to go into London so I decided to put on my ear muffs (oh I am so trendy), wrap my scarf round me and visit a museum.  I had to go to an appointment at London Bridge so decided to visit the Design Museum, which is actually near to Tower Bridge.

It was expensive, £10 (or £11 if you wanted to leave a donation) and to be honest, there was not that much to see.  The ticket staff did say that I could stay the whole day and go in and out as I wished with my ticket – but there was not enough to see for a whole day visit.  At the moment there is a Terence Conran exhibition being held there.  It was set out well and was informative about Conran’s life and work.  Surprisingly,  objects and designs which had seems so modern to me, when I shopped at Habitat, even now, looked really dated.

Ah – those iconic red teapots.  It all looks very common place now doesn’t it, what a red teapot!!!  But I can remember how bourgeois it felt having a red teapot and not only was it red, it didn’t have flowers on it.  There are lots of objects that Conran designed on display  and a set showing  Conran’s desk and study area.  The rest of the museum (which wasn’t very large)  had other items that showed design worth, ranging from the  chandelier made from reclaim spectacles , which is actually fantastic, to  3D computer model making.

There was a great sculpture just outside of the museum, on the riverbank.

This Giant Head (no reference to Third Rock From the Sun TV prog intended!) was quite amazing and very beautiful.  It was also free to see!!  I understand that the Design Museum is intending to expand and move to a better premises – so I will reserve my judgement until this happens.  I was very disappointed with what I saw last week though – I mean – all the brilliant design work that goes on in Britain and I had expected rooms and rooms of mega-exciting objects and information and that just was not the case!

Anyway, back into hibernation until the sun decides to shine just a little more.

