Tags

, , , , , , ,

The moral of the story is to FINISH something.  WHY?  WHY? WHY?

You have an idea, a concept.  You draw it, you imagine it, you make models of it.  At night you dream of it.  Unfortunately, until you have actually made a FINISHED PIECE – it will be and will always remain, AN IDEA or a CONCEPT.

Finishing a piece helps you to find out any technical challenges inherent within the piece and then forces you to confront and overcome them.  You can discuss a finished piece with colleagues, who don’t have to try to predict what you are saying.  They can actually comment and help you move forward, using an actual, realised,  tangible object.  They can see what you have envisaged, they can see whether you have achieved those aims, can suggest ways of improving and give you feedback on what was strong about your design.

I have just taken my own advice and finished my ANTI-HUNTING BROOCH.  Fellow students gave me lots of feedback, which was great.  They all liked the bullet and rifle brooch fastening so if I was going to move on with that design, I would keep those features on my piece.  

The front of the piece is set within a frame of the word ONCE.  This is the first word in the Peter Rabbit Story.  The reason why I Photoshop a lot of my work, is because metal is so hard to photograph for an amateur and the shine from the surface obliterates important details.  So hopefully I get to give you the best view of the pieces I make.  The hole in the piece, is an exact copy of a bullet hole in a shooting target I got from my visit to Bisley Shooting Range.

The back of the piece has the shadow of the rabbit and the bullet hole, with a rifle and bullet catch, which I can now see has not shown up too well in the photograph (but take my word for it – it looked good).  The piece is made from copper, brass and perspex.  I would never make a piece to sell out of copper, I would use silver.  Unfortunately, silver is so expensive at the moment and I make all my working designs in copper just to save money.  The main thing is that everything looks better in silver so designs only get to improve!  (They would look even better in gold – but that is a different story!)

SO FINISH YOUR WORK – IT IS THE ONLY WAY!!!

 

Next week I am going to visit Goldsmith’s Hall in London, including the library which I have never seen, so I am very excited.  Will report back with photographs after visit.

