Tags

, , , , , ,

In the never-ending quest for design inspiration, I battled my way into London to visit the V&A.  I was on the look-out for cone forms in the exhibits.  I do find this museum very complicated in lay-out and it was so hard to find staff when I was lost in the place.  Every way I went, I ended up back at the front door!  Funnily enough, almost the first object that I set eyes on when I walked into the museum was the best, most inspirational object of the day.

The Akali Turban.

This is a sort of war headdress worn by the Sikh  warriors.  They used the headdress form to carry weapons.  Some of the Akali Turbans can be massive, some such as the one that is on display at the V&A, is actually slim and looks very wearable!

There was also a sketchbook by the Parisian jeweller,  Auguste Pageot, open for the public to see.  It is so emotional seeing old sketchbooks containing the designs, hopes and dreams of people long gone.

I spent most of the day looking at cone-shaped hats on statues, stone carvings, paintings and stained glass.  It is incredible to see the vast array of different styles of hats through the ages.

Cone hats in particular!!

If anyone knows of a hat museum in the South of England can you tweet or email me because I would really love to do some more research on historical hats,  It would be really great to be able to put patterns from material used to make a conical hat, on my silver object.

The above vessel is called “Hakutai”, and was made by Naoki Takeyama in 2007.  It is fluted and enamelled copper.

There is a fantastic free exhibition on at the moment, called the Power of Making, 6th September 2011 to 2nd Jan 2012.  It explores via great exhibits, people who “make” great things.

“Power of Making is an exhibition about the breadth and depth of craft’s presence in modern life”. quote from the exhibition literature.  Unfortunately, like most special exhibitions, you can’t take photographs, but we were allowed to take a photo of one of the exhibits, just outside of the room.

Silver gorilla – just amazing.

At the main entrance, on the steps of the V&A there is a large wooden and  metal sculpture which curves like a roller coaster.  I managed to get a photograph of its reflection in a taxi window.

Since I am being free with my London photographs today here is one of a little mews street near to the V&A

And here is the car park I parked in because I was too lazy to go by train. It was the most difficult car park that I think I have ever parked in – so be warned if you ever go by car to the V&A!!
Just a London street view from around the V&A

Well hope you got a little glimpse into my CONE HEAD TRIP to the V&A and please feel free to use any photographs you want.  I apologise for any spelling mistakes that did appear in this post – but I tend to write these entries at the end of very busy days and my brain is tired.   So general apologies for all mistakes in typing that appear in this blog.

