Tags

, , , , , ,

UP, DOWN, TURN AROUND – inside, outside, roundabout!  That is just a brief summary of how my quest for a suitable research topic is going.  I have swum in a sea of dark, sticky treacle for a few weeks now – but I think (read HOPE) that I have found what I’m looking for.  (as the song goes).

The clue is in the post title – TRUNCATED CONE.  I was walking across Waterloo Bridge in London the other day and I noticed the light coming through windows at the top of a church spire.  It got me thinking that  out of all the college projects that I have completed, two of them were based on truncated cones. Why I asked myself!  I think that it is the mathematical precision of the truncated cone that I like – because  if I do it correctly,  I am in complete control of the outcome.  I must like control – complete control.  I also think that a truncated cone form combines with other shapes really well.

This is a stool designed by Simon Pengelly, based on the truncated cone form.  It is called “Pluto”.

These are lampshades called Artu Lamps designed my Carlo Tombrini.  As you can see they consist of three truncated cones joined together.  Wonderful.!

I suppose, in a way, this dress by Issey Miyake

is made from truncated cones – even if they are wide, short and squishy!.

There is an exquisite formula for drawing a truncated cone – simple and easy but it makes that cone turns out perfectly.  Anyone who is interested can search on google.  I recommend the site www://mathscentral.uregina.ca/QQ.02.06/phil1.html which gives a great explanation of the formula and how it works  that even simpletons like myself can understand.

So am back on track at last.  Breathe sigh of relief.  Now got to get drawing again.  Curly Tail Animals wag that tail!

