Tags

, , , , , ,

POP UP POST   POP UP POST  POP UP POST

Only got time for a little pop up post tonight.  Just thought I would let you know that I saw the designs for the Olympic gold medals at the British Museum when I visited last week.  I will post the photographs I took tomorrow.  I was amazed to find that two SKILLED AND EXPERIENCED jewellers had won the submissions to design them.  David Watkins and Lin Cheung both eminent in the world of metalwork,  have created wonderful and thrilling designs for the medals.

It was great to be able to see part of their submissions for the commission, which in David Watkin’s case was CAD drawings.  He is well known as a forerunner in jewellery designed by CAD.  Lin Cheung’s submission work was hand drawn, I think, and more painterly in design.  So, I am now honoured to have held the Olympic torch and have been nose to nose to the Olympic medal designs.  METALWORK is having a MOMENT IN THE SPOTLIGHT which is really cool!!!

I will try to do a proper blog tomorrow.  I have tons of fab photographs from the British Museum and need to share these, so that other students can use them if necessary.

 The ones on this post are not my images.

Anyway, can’t do much more at the moment as I time is short (as always).

More tomorrow.

