Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Time has begun to draw the curtain on my summer design area and start afresh.  The curly tail animal pendants can always be made if the time is right.  That is the great thing about a sketchbook and to some extent this blog – each is a historical but detailed history of a design progression.  Even though the work will not actually be made at this moment in time, I have recorded so many fantastic images of my ideas that it will be very easy to come back to them in the future.

So, I will begin again.  The fact that it means cracking open a crisp, fresh, enticing new sketchbook has nothing to do with it, honestly!  The blog, I have decided will always be called CURLY TAIL ANIMALS because it is a cool name.  So that is settled then.

I am looking for new inspiration.  I have been researching the flower called ANAGALLIS ARVENSIS or the Scarlet Pimpernel to you and me.  I have always loved this little, coral coloured flower.  I was also in the Scarlet Pimpernel patrol in the Girl Guides!

The photograph that made me start researching this plant is this one

.

How cool is that!  It comes from a book called “Fruit – Edible, Inedible, Incredible” by Wolfgang Stuppy & Rob Kesseler.  This book has the most incredible close up  photographs of parts of fruits and flowers.  Amazing!

So the long design process begins again.   Luckily, I am going to the Grayson Perry Exhibition at the British Museum this week, so that will be a kick up the backside to start getting motivated again.  Or maybe the beckoning page of the brand new sketchbook will call me like a Siren from a rock.

