Tags

, , , , ,

Only a bit to report today.  College has been a bit crazy and I had so many heavy things to take in, large tool box, large sketchbook,weighty  bag of copper metal and library books.  My arms are now twice as long as they were before I carried everything from the car.  I had to abandon my camera because there were only two shoulders to hang straps on – the camera was just a strap too many.  I am finding out how to hold the chasing and repousse tools and getting a feel of how far the metal can be hit into the pitch, before a hole appears.  It is an exciting learning curve.

I managed to put a bit of decoration onto the tail area and soldered wire onto the neck.

I HAVE GOT A HUGE AMOUNT TO LEARN – CAN’T WAIT UNTIL THE FIRST WEST DEAN COURSE.

Just watching the John Lewis tv advertisement.  I had all but forgotten how brilliant TWO-TONE music was.  Every time I watch the boy dancing it makes me smile and want to join it.  Although it was a relatively short-lived music craze, I was at Warwick University in Coventry, which was the centre of the musical universe at that time.  So the John Lewis ad takes me back to a really good place.  The Specials, Selectors, Joe Jackson – ah a great time.  OOooopppss.  Nothing to do with CURLY TAILS, metalwork, design or inspiration.

 

