Tags

, , , , , , , ,

FEELING VERY TIRED TODAY because I stayed up for most of the night tracking the UARS satellite as it fell “to it’s flaming death” over the Earth.  I watched it circle the world over and over again, my eyes getting heavier and heavier.  Then at the moment it apparently landed – yes you guessed right – I had fallen to sleep.

There is no safe way to do metalwork when you are as tired as I am today so I was sensible and decided to get my Uni work done instead.  As much as we moan about all this paperwork, it is all relevant and when you actually devote some time to filling it all in properly and with consideration, it really gives a lot in return.  I have realised today that what I like  best about metalsmithing is the connection that it gives me with craftsmen from the past.  I am sure it is the same with other crafts, but I can only speak for metalwork.  I love looking at ancient metal objects, because I know the exact procedures that the workmen must have used to make them.   This knowledge means that I can look past the visual aspect of the piece and see a hidden depth in the object, as shown by the maker’s marks. Only people with this “technical” knowledge can read this “hidden depth, hidden story” and I am one of the people that can.  This makes me feel very special.  I love seeing the character, “soul”, “emotion”, “care”, “accomplishment” and “history”  of these skilled artisans,  in the marks on the metal.

WAIT A MINUTE YOU WERE TALKING ABOUT FILLING IN PAPERWORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well there is a connection between my philosophical tirade and paperwork.  I had to put down on one of the documents, what form my research would take and one aspect of it was a visit to GRAYSON PERRY’S EXHIBITION AT THE BRITISH MUSEUM, “TOMB OF THE UNKNOWN CRAFTSMAN”.  While reading some articles about this exhibition I realised that the exhibition was really a manifestation of my own feelings towards my craft.  There you go – I never realised that I would be linking myself with someone of such great skills and knowledge as Grayson Perry – I must be improving.  I will review the exhibition in a few posts time as I am going on the first day of public opening.

Anyway just to prove I have indeed done my paperwork here are some images.

PRODUCTION PLAN – YEP DONE – GREAT BIG TICK!

STUDY PLAN – YEP ANOTHER BIG TICK!!!

This is the first hammered  (not drunk!!!)  beginning of the  first real CURLY TAIL ANIMAL TRIAL.  I just can’t wait to go on the West Dean course but although, this trial is not brilliant, I can already see the potential between the technique and my designs.  So it is very encouraging.

