Tags

, , , , , , ,

TIME FOR A CHANGE

THE ONLY WAY TO PROGRESS IS TO ACCEPT CHANGE

CHANGE CAN BE FOR THE BETTER OR FOR THE WORSE  BUT AT LEAST CHANGE IS MOVEMENT

College is 6 days away.  I think I have designed as much as was possible – so I will now declare the summer of Curly Tail Animals a success!!!!  HURRAH for me.  I love writing this blog so am going to keep posting my posts, even if there has to be more POP-UP POSTS than I would like.  I have to accept that from now on the blog will be a balance between DESIGN WORK AND TECHNICAL MAKING WORK.  Don’t worry, I will carry my very good, but bulky, camera with  me everywhere so that I can show you the steps along the journey of a finished jewellery piece.

CURLY TAIL ANIMALS was an idea for one collection but I have to design different collections or objects for my university work.  I am going to keep the name CURLY TAIL ANIMALS though, because it just seems to fit.  Maybe CURLY TAIL ANIMALS can be my brand name?!

So, as the seasons progress and this emerging Autumn, grey, rainy and storm ridden, turns into Winter and then slowly unfurls back into Spring and Summer, my blog will show the work I do everyday.

 Another book was left on the doorstep hot off the Amazon press.  “Chasing and Repousse.  Methods, Ancient and Modern” by Nancy Megan Corwin.

 Seems like it is going to be very useful.  I had a little go at chasing today again, but it is very hard.

Oh, by the way, here is another of my designs.  This one is not part of the Curly Tail Animals collection, but was inspired by a trip to the British Museum.  I think I need to broaden out my research because I am a little bit bored with CURLY TAILs.

I thought that I had gained a lot of confidence as I was designing throughout the summer – but now, with university looming ahead very soon – I feel all that confidence slipping away again.  My mind is filling up with self-doubts.  My head is spinning around as I try to decide what I should be making.

  • Classical, wearable, subtle pieces
  • Loud, big, exciting pieces that are more akin to works of art
  • Silversmith vessels, that are large, usable forms, not decorative like jewellery
  • Non-precious metal jewellery -perspex, paper, ceramic, wooden, leather.
  • Narrative jewellery – that has a meaningful message
It all seemed crystal clear over the summer now everything is starting to swirl around, becoming worrying and puzzling again.  Oh dear!
