Tags

, , , , , , ,

Now is the time to confess my sins.  Yep – I couldn’t wait until next week to start making again, I am way too impatient for that!  So up I went to my studio, found a little piece of silver and started to have a go at my FIRST CURLY TAIL ANIMAL.  

This is my workshop/studio before I tidied up today so excuse the mess.  It is a light room up in the attic and has space for designing and for making, which is great.  The only down side is that there is no water source and so I have to cart water up to the studio in jugs and bottles.  I have a collection of jewellery books by my side to reference for design work and for making.  I also have inspirational pictures on my studio wall.  I do all my drilling with a hand drill, which is pretty archaic in this day and age, but I like the feeling of control that using this drill gives me.

I tried to do some chasing and repousse work, but it was more stamping really.  I fully appreciate that I will know a lot more after I have completed my two courses at West Dean.  Still, I was pleased with the result of my labour because the piece came out exactly as I had envisaged it.As you can see it is very much in the genre of the “two cows” below, which I have always liked as a design.

Also my silver piece is pretty close to the design I drew.

I think that using thin yellow gold sheet would produce a livelier and expensive piece of work, but I need to make sure that this is actually the case as gold is so expensive to buy and I would HATE to waste any money.

SO I CAN NOW CHRISTEN THIS WORK AS 

THE FIRST CURLY TAIL ANIMAL PENDANT

