Tags

, , , , , ,

Phew – today I can report that I have spent my time designing.

HURRAH!

Errrr … no …. not hurrah … but boo!

I spent all day drawing and painting but guess what – yep, I DON’T LIKE MY DESIGN AGAIN!

Oh no not again!

I decided to use the elephant head image from the Wallace Collection but I had not foreseen the collision of

TWO CURLS – ONE CURL FROM THE TAIL AND ONE CURL FROM THE ELEPHANT  TRUNK!!!!!

The design does not work, I believe it is because of the two curl elements in the design.  The both look odd together.

How could I have improved this design?  Well, I think the tail curl needs to be removed from the design and a different element added to the end of the tail.  I am also going to go through my sketch book and look at some of the designs that I did very early in the research process.  I would like to make some proper illustrations of these first drawings and see if I can get a shape that I am pleased with from these early sketches.

Even though I am feeling disappointed in my design work today at least it has made me think deeply about what I would like to achieve as an end product.

