Tags

, , , , , , ,

POP-UP POST

Sorry, but it is going to be a very little pop-up post today.  This morning was spent sorting out the vegetable garden.  Such a lovely day, weather wise and because university begins in TWO WEEKS TIME – yes TWO WEEKS until I can start making my CURLY TAIL ANIMALS.  (Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo EXCITED) I wanted to do an Autumn garden sort out.

I have to write my dissertation this year so have been thinking about what sort of things I would like to write about.  Unfortunately we can’t write about Britain’s Next Top Model, or Big Brother, which is so unfair!  No, obviously it has to be Art/Craft related.  As you have probably gathered from my posts, I am not particularly knowledgable about Art theory.  That is why I love WordPress because I learn so much from everyone’s blogs.

I have just bought the book “Dark Matter” by Gregory Sholette (2011). According to the blurb on the back cover the book is about how some artists manage to earn big bucks for their work, while the vast majority are forgotten and ignored.  The author, Gregory Sholette, believes that the art world moves forward feeding on inspiration created in the non-commercial sector “shut off from prestigious galleries and champagne reception”.    Anyway, this is why the post is a pop-up post today BECAUSE I HAVE GOT TO START READING THIS BOOK.

So, I had better get going.

More design tomorrow.

