Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Just about got over the excitement of being at the Big Brother Eviction show last night so I decided to go into London and visit the Wallace Collection AGAIN.  This time, I did research before I went and knew what to look out for, and having learnt about the Rococo era of ornamentation really improved my visit to the exhibition .

The above photo is Tiara by Kevin Coates entitled “Entry of the Queen of the Night) (Mozart Series).

Here is an example of the shell motif that was a popular motif in the Rococo movement of ornamentation.  Also you can see the acanthus leaf curling in a “c” curl around the shell.  The “C” curl on a piece of furniture – all Rococo.

It was great going to the Collection for a second time, especially since I have had space to think about what I like about the collection and what aspects of it I would like to include in my work.  Therefore, I could look for repousse techniques, animal heads, and curls or scrolls.  I was focused  looking around and spotted every detail that could be of help, then photographed it!

Curly tail metal tip of a dagger in the Amour section.  There was so much inspiration on the ground floor that I didn’t even make it to the first floor.

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE CAFE IN THE BUILDING IS FANTASTIC.  SO LEAVE TIME TO SIT DOWN, REST YOUR FEET AND HAVE SOME WONDERFUL FOOD.

This is a very inspirational object from the Collection for my CURLY TAIL ANIMAL designs.  It inspired me to think about making my Curly Tail animals with metal heads and non-metal (probably perspex) body.  With metal at the tip of the tail.  As you can see from the above picture I think that the head is attached to a flat piece of metal, which is inserted into a groove in the ivory and then a rivet goes through the ivory and the metal plate, holding the two components together.

CAN’T WAIT TO DRAW A PERSPEX BODY WITH METAL HEAD AND TAIL.  THE PERSPEX WILL PROVIDE COLOUR IN MY PIECE WHICH I LOVE.

I am very excited about the new design route that my visit to the Wallace Collection has taken me on.

To help me down the new design route I bought two new books (doesn’t take much to make me buy a book!) .

Yet again I’ve got a million photographs from my day out, 4 books, and lots of new design ideas.  The only problem is

NONE OF THE DESIGNS ARE ON PAPER  –  THEY ARE JUST IN MY HEAD

Got to do some drawing and painting again.  SOON.

