Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I feel like a HEAD HUNTER!  Everywhere I go I search for animal heads.  Don’t worry, I am a vegetarian, and I don’t like handling dead animals, even in skeleton form (bird skulls are very trendy in the jewellery world at the moment!). But I keep my beady eyes peeled for images of animal heads.  I went for a walk on the Surrey Downs today, Bank Holiday Sunday, but yet again did not find much inspiration out in the countryside.  I did take lots of photographs of fallen tree branches that looked like animals but most of them were blurry.  The daylight was so poor and I only had a small portable camera with me.

This is the only picture that is good enough to print. Can you tell what it is yet? Well, I think it looks like a rabbit getting up out of the grass.

Anyway …….. I am going to go back with my big camera and take the photos again.  I did some painting when I got back from my walk.When I am doing the chasing and repousse technique (starting September!!!!) I will have to think about where the highlights of my design are and where the shadows fall, because they are the highs and lows that I will have to create in the metal.  So drawing and painting all these animals will really help me when I start to make again (yep – September!!!).

I am still thinking about whether to go FLAT and NAIVE or more decorative and CHUNKY?  Can’t wait to get going again and be able to show you my actual work.  Very exciting and I am finding it so difficult just designing and not making – BUT I PROMISED MYSELF THAT I WOULD NOT DO ANY MAKING UNTIL COLLEGE BEGINS IN MID SEPTEMBER and apart from one pewter casting blip, I have kept that promise.

CHUNKY DECORATIVE PIECE – SLIGHTLY NAIVE THOUGH!

FLAT AND NAIVE.  I JUST LOVE THESE ARTEFACTS.  WHY?  I THINK IT IS THE FLAT BACK AND THE CURVE OF THE SPACE BETWEEN THE LEGS AND THE CURVE OF THE HORN.  VERY PLEASING DESIGN.

