Tags

, , , , , , ,

IT IS VERY HARD TO GET BACK INTO THE ROUTINE OF DRAWING AND DESIGNING EVERYDAY WHEN YOU HAVE HAD A BREAK, SAY WHEN YOU GO ON HOLIDAY.

I felt like I was struggling to get back into it  but did not want to leave it another day to get  back to the process of sketching.  Therefore I decided to just sit down and copy some illustrations of animal heads and faces that I had found in the books I discovered in the bookshop in Hay-on-Wye.

GOOD PLACE TO START CURLY TAIL ANIMAL PERSON

Yes it was a good idea, because it has just got the motor running again and looking through the books, drawing details from the ornament illustrations has also sparked some design ideas.

I love this image of a stylised bird.

Next I drew two more naïve CURLY TAIL DESIGNS.  I think that I am going to have to begin to make decisions very soon about whether I am going down a minimalist design route or a highly ornamental route.  Will need to do big thinking about this and it is going to be a hard decision.  I think that it will depend on whether I am going to try to make a STATEMENT PIECE at the centre of my collection.  If I decide to do a “grand” piece then I will certainly make  this grand centrepiece highly ornamental.  The trouble is that I really like the naïve pieces that I have seen in my  Pre-Columbian Gold research and I also like the highly designed and processed pieces too.  The naïve gold Pre-Columbian pieces are often just cut from thin sheets of gold and then sewn or folded together like pieces of material.  They just have such a childlike charm about them.

BUT…  AND IT IS A BIG BUT …

I also like the gold artefacts that show the amazing technical skills that these ancient craftsmen had taught themselves.  When I see the gold objects that were made by lost wax processes I wonder how they managed to carve bees wax (presumably!) in such a detailed and artistic manner.  The cast gold treasures that they produced were so perfect.

ANYWAY STILL A LITTLE WAY TO GO BEFORE I HAVE TO MAKE THAT DIFFICULT DECISION.

This detail that I copied from a drawing in my ornamental design resource book is a READY-MADE CURLY TAIL ANIMAL without me doing any extra design work.

DECORATIVE CURLY TAIL ANIMAL.

I could make this using the ancient art of lost-wax casting  or could create it from two hollow halves soldered together.  It would be much lighter to wear than a solid cast piece.  I would put the animals features and designs onto each half of the piece using the techniques of chasing and repousse.  This technique is another one that is extremely difficult to do but which the ancient craftsmen seemed to be highly skilled at.

SEE I WAS RIGHT – already I am starting to debate which design route to go down and without really realising I have begun to illustrate and design again.  By drawing, I have started to set myself problems to chew over and solve.  Overcoming these design problems will help me achieve design and technical solutions which will then enable me to make the best pieces of jewellery possible for my new collection.

CURLY TAIL ANIMALS ARE BACK ON THE PROWL

