Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

DID I GET INSPIRATION FROM MY HOLIDAY?

Actually, not as much as I thought I would – which might sound strange!  Cornwall and Wales were amazingly beautiful but because I am now so focused with my research area, ie CURLS/ANIMALS,  I only really wanted to concentrate my energy on recording objects relating to that.  So, although I did not encounter much in a physical sense that could help my research, I did learn an awful lot about where the rich sources of research are.

SO FAR, I HAVE GOT THE BEST INSPIRATION FROM OLD BUILDINGS, THEIR ARCHITECTURE AND THEIR FURNISHINGS.

  • THESE INCLUDE OLD HOUSES
  • OLD CHURCHES
  • BOOKS WITH ILLUSTRATIONS OF ORNAMENTAL DESIGN.
I DON’T GET INSPIRATION (FOR THIS COLLECTION ANYWAY)  FROM ORGANIC SOURCES OR NATURE.
So not only has my holiday been great fun, peaceful and energetic but has also been a wonderful LEARNING EXPERIENCE in terms of my design work.
Anyway, I did take photographs, which of course might prove inspirational for a later collection.  This one is of the early morning cloud formation rising above a beach in Cornwall.  For all my readers not from the UK , Cornwall in England is such a beautiful county.  Of course, the one thing that it can’t guarantee is good weather, and it does rain quite a bit.  So I was lucky to get this photograph with the sun shining.
We also visited Mid-Wales.  I have been before, but this time was overcome with its beauty, its peace and the friendly people who live and work there.  We had a fantastic week.  I did manage to get some photographs of animals as well, which will be of great use to me when I am designing my CURLY TAIL animal heads.
Sheep under a picnic table.  I think I just about managed to capture a good head profile.  At least, being a vegetarian for many years, I could look the sheep in its eyes!!
We made friends with a lovely dog called Cassie, so I took her photograph too.
Great profile Cassie!!
I did take photographs of an organic nature.  I love the line drawings created on the sand in Cornwall by threads of SEAWEED.
I quite often take photographs of these seaweed line drawings in the hope that they might one day inspire a line of jewellery.  A minimalist sort of design I think.
NATURE’S LINE DRAWINGS.
I did visit a huge bookshop in HAY-ON-WYE where I purchased a number of great old and new books rich in illustrations of old ornamental design.  More on these books tomorrow as I haven’t had time to read them yet.
Can’t wait to get the pencil, paper and paint back out again – I really hate being away from designing my
CURLYTAIL ANIMALS
