Tags

, , , , , , ,

CURLY TAIL ANIMALS IS ON VACATION UNTIL MID AUGUST.  I HAVE LEFT YOU WITH A SERIES OF MINI-POSTS TO KEEP YOU GOING UNTIL I GET BACK.

The most fascinating thing for a jeweller is to study old portraits to see what jewellery the rich folk in history wore.  Therefore I spent a lot of time at Hampton Court looking at oil portraits.This garter (or knee let) is a great example of pieces of jewellery that have died out because of changes in fashion through the ages.  I would love to know what the latin meant.  (I did study latin at school – but most of it has slipped out of my brain now!)

Good old Henry, Henry the 8th I am I am.  Terrible photograph, I apologise, but I was trying to getting information about the pendant and chain that the King was wearing in this portrait.  The sleeves of his clothing were also heavily jewelled as well.

CURLY TAIL ANIMALS WILL BE BACK SOON – MID AUGUST- SEE YOU THEN.  AS RUSSEL BRAND WOULD SAY

LUV YOU

