Tags

, , , , , ,

I scoured the walls of Hampton Court Palace, really looking closely at wall hangings and murals that I had just walked past before.  On close inspection there were a lot of CURLY TAIL type of creatures and I made sure that I had photographs of them all.

These two CURLY TAIL animals were supporting lamps in one of the Palaces’s rooms.  These objects are just PERFECT as inspiration for the sort of design work that I am doing at the moment.

 

As can be seen from the above photograph, not only are there great CURLY TAIL animals in this design but also many curls and scrolls.

Looking at historical artefacts not only gives you ideas on an imaginative level, but also helps you on a technical level by allowing you to see how craftspeople through history have used  the very same details that interest you in todays contemporary world.

