Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I don’t think I am going to be doing much drawing over the next two weeks, as I am going on my summer vacation.  I will be able to post blogs, (Cornwall and Mid-Wales has some internet connection – albeit VERY SLOW!).  During the vacation I will be sketching things I see  in the hope that my research can be included into the CURLY TAILS in the future.  All drawing is valuable even if it is not directly a CURLY.

I take a lot of inspiration from TEXTILES and have spotted some animals images in a book about RUGS by Shiela Betterton, based on rugs from the American Museum in Britain.  

The rug with the Dalmatian dog is from the 19th Century.  Shiela tells the reader that  the ” Dalmatian dog is often called a “Firehouse” dog in America.  This is because a Dalmatian dog accompanied volunteer fire brigades in country districts in America.”

The lion rug is also from the 19th Century and has a great LION image in its design.

The two cat rug is also 19th Century.  THE CATS HEADS CAN BE USED IN THE CURLY TAIL DESIGNS.

INSPIRATION CAN COME FROM MANY DIFFERENT SOURCES – JUST SEEK AND YOU SHALL FIND.

