Tags

, , , , , ,

So I just had to go and do it didn’t I?

I had promised myself that under no circumstances would I do any MAKING until September.  I just wanted to concentrate on DESIGN AND ILLUSTRATING THE DESIGNS.

Then this lack of confidence quietly crept in – ok I’m designing all this stuff but what if I can’t make any of it.  TRUST YOURSELF GIRL!!!!!!!  But OH NO, I just could not believe solely in my designs on paper and I had to try to see if the design was going to be possible to make.  I just wanted a tiny trial, honest gov’, just a tiny trial.  So I did a little home experiment with rubber moulds and casting PEWTER.  I had all this stuff anyway so I can cross my heart and say that at least it didn’t cost me any money to do the little trial piece.

Pewter has a low melting temperature  so I could just melt it over the stove and I wasn’t too bothered how perfect the result was.  I was not looking for perfection just an indication that things would work eventually when I used the proper equipment.

WAS I PLEASED WITH THE RESULTS?

You bet I was!  For a rushed trial, over the kitchen sink and kitchen stove, it has turned out great and I am very pleased and encouraged.  I SHOULD HAVE HAD CONFIDENCE IN MY DESIGNING SKILLS!!!!!!!

 

CURLY TAIL ANIMALS RULE AND ARE COOL!

