Tags

, , , , , ,

Well Sunday has been a day of “getting rid of”.  I felt a late surge of Spring Cleaning  …  well a very late surge of Spring Cleaning.  So the attic  and my workshop have been stripped down and emptied of all the rubbish that accumulates over the years.  Needless to say I had a car and a half full of long forgotten old things.

MAKING A PIECE OF JEWELLERY THAT TRANSCENDS TIME.

I think that it is my great hatred of possessing RUBBISH that motivates me to try to create jewellery that is of a timeless quality.  I want to create something that will never date and will be of long-lasting value – not just a disposable trinket.  I think that is why I design in gold and silver because there is an intrinsic value in that material.  I appreciate that buying expensive jewellery is a decision that can’t be taken lightly, but to me, it seems better to buy one beautifully made necklace that can be worn on every occasion, than to spend £5 or £10 pounds on a cheap piece of bauble that is discarded after one wear.  Repeating this for every new dress or outfit eventually adds up to a lot of pounds and a lot of cheap rubbish jewellery cluttering up your drawers.

So onwards and upwards towards that piece of long-lasting, beautiful jewellery design.

 

 Todays design has moved into a more FLOWERY – ART NOUVEAU direction.  Notice there is no chain in the design as yet because the evening light was fast disappearing and I needed to take a photograph of my design.

 

Also I need to do some more research into the best way to try to hang these CURLY TAIL ANIMAL pendants.

 

It is VERY IMPORTANT that the chain, fastening and pendant drop work together as a whole, so every aspect of the pendant design has to be well thought through.

So, clearing out the clutter, has helped to clear out my mind.  A clean, ordered workspace gives me more room to work in and a peaceful calmer environment – which I love.

I NEED TO ADD COLOUR TO THIS DESIGN – WILL WORK ON THIS TOMORROW.

 

 

 

 

 

 

