Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I KNOW WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE IN CHAINS (regards Depeche Mode)

I thought I would do this while my gouache rendering is  drying.  I wanted to put my lion in a more contemporary pendant design so have worked hard for the whole day trying out different ideas.  The piece is about STRENGTH – power of the lion incorporated with other features that suggest power and strength to me.  I have researched different shapes of chain links, because I think that each link of a thick metal chain is very strong.  Each link has to be strong in its own right, otherwise the chain will fail.  Therefore I went through all my chain photographs to see if there was a picture of a metal link that would compliment my design.  I am a BIG CHAIN FREAK!!!  No, not like that – but I just love rusty chains, chain rings and fixings.  I have tons of chain photographs in my inspiration library.

I absolutely love the chain shown in the second photograph.  I have always wanted to use it in a collection and now I can!  Well, a slight variation of the chain link anyway.  I have shown a front view of my lion pendant design and also a side view of part of the design – just to remind me that there is a “spoke”  jutting out of the front of the top section of the pendant.  I have rendered the drawing in silver metal and I have set bright blue sapphires in the piece.  The back of the design is FLAT.  I think that it would sit better against the body with a flat back.  Now, I have just got to wait for the sun to come back so that I can take a photograph of my painting.  (It is July and the sun seems to be unwilling to come out and give England any summer at all!).

TIME TO THINK ABOUT THE NEW DESIGN

I always review every design and this one is no different.   Sometimes it is very painful – because in my head I have seen what I thought would be a wonderful piece of jewellery and then I see it painted and I think – OH DEAR, what a waste of valuable time.  But I should be more positive  – every design, every painting, every review is that step nearer to a FANTASTIC DESIGN.

I like the biker chic tone to this jewellery design.  It certainly has a more contemporary look than the Lion and Fennel design, which was more traditional.    I like the top half of the pendant drop, as it looks like a cross form, which still seems to be a contemporary jewellery look.  Also, the forward spike, which is not drawn very well on my design, gives it a “groovy – rock and roll” edge.  The sapphires look good – well-balanced and beautiful.  I am very unsure about the proportion of the top “cross” part on the design and the lion part.  I will have to draw the design with different scales etc.

 

 

