Tags

, , , ,

Sorry – I am afraid it is not going to be the biggest post in the world today as I had to catch up on all the work I missed whilst on my fun day out yesterday.  There is always a price to pay!

This is a good point to start the process of drawing the jewellery design to scale.  I am showing you this aspect of illustration after only showing you a few initial designs.  In reality, I would probably fill half a sketch book with photographs, magazine cuttings, research, and most importantly SKETCHES AND DRAWINGS before starting to draw my design to scale.  Sometimes, though, if I have to choose between a few designs that I like, I will draw them all to scale because seeing the pieces in their “real life” size can put a different spin onto a design.

Buy some graph paper.   Make sure that the graph paper  shows 10 mm squares, divided into 5 mm squares and shows 1 mm increments.  It actually says on the Student Graph Pad that I have purchased “1, 5 & 10 mm”.  (See above photograph).

Then in the middle of the sheet of graph paper mark the centre point of the page with a LARGE PENCIL CROSS MARK.  Remember that your design is going to be drawn life-size (ie the actual size that you are going to make it).  So if the centre of the cross shape is the centre of your piece of jewellery make sure that the design will fit onto the sheet of graph paper.  You can buy A3 sized graph paper in the correct scale (1, 5 & 10mm) but it is very expensive.

I am afraid that is all I have time for today.  Tomorrow I am going to place a sheet of tracing paper over the graph paper and cross and show you the next step.

Tonight’s inspiration is from Dorset again (sorry – I am going to get out and about next week so will be able to  post inspiration from different locations!!!)

Remember – when looking at objects as inspiration for drawing and designing think about the negative space that an object has.  The gaps in this harbour post create very interesting shapes as do the segments that the post is divided into by these very cracks.

