Tags

, , , , , , ,

My name is Marie Godfrey and I live in Thames Ditton, which is by the River Thames in Surrey, England.  It is a great place to live as it is easy to get into London to see exhibitions and to visit galleries.  My first degree was in English and American Literature from Warwick University.  After many jobs, mainly in the field of education, I slowly drifted into the field of silversmithing.  It has been hard work training for a new profession but, because I enjoy working with metal so much, it has been worth it.  As well as learning how to work with different metals and other materials, a good silversmith working in the jewellery field has to spend a great deal of time researching contemporary design; design theory and design history.  It is also important to be aware of what your fellow jewellers are making; what is in and out of fashion and what the groovy kids are wearing.  Keeping abreast of market led fashion trends and street trends requires an enormous amount of reading (mostly magazines – so I am not complaining).   All this before even beginning to create an original jewellery design.

I hope to give you a glimpse into the world of jewellery design and illustration, all the work which goes on backstage before a piece of jewellery is actually made and thrust into the spotlight.  If you are a professional jeweller this blog will only teach you how to suck eggs!  If you want to learn how to work with silversmithing tools and physically put together pieces of metal to make jewellery then this blog will not teach you that.  The only way to learn how to be a silversmith is to join a class and learn from all those fantastic teachers out there.

I have studied art and craft at Wimbledon School of Art, Richmond Adult Education and the University of the Creative Arts and I belong to the ACJ (Association of Contemporary Jewellery).

CONFESSION TIME

I can’t draw……… Well I was certainly not blessed with the greatest drawing skills in the world and life would certainly be much easier if I had.   But I work with the drawing skills that I was given and I seem to get by.

I don’t expect you to copy my designs – well, what jeweller would want to do that?  The fun of being a jeweller is to create pieces from your own research and inspirations.  I just hope that seeing my day-to-day influences; designs; struggles; workings; problems and solutions will nudge your brain a little bit and maybe set fire to an idea that has lurked deep in the vaults of your creative spirit.

